OM Sanctuary would like to dedicate this blog posting to Margaret Michel, who passed peacefully on July 23rd, 2013 (to see her obituary, click here). The Michel family purchased the Richmond Hill property in 1987 and opened the Richmond Hill Inn in 1989. They added many additional developments to the property; including the croquet cottages, the acclaimed Gabrielle’s restaurant, the waterfall, and the Garden Pavilion building. The Michel’s owned the property until 2005. After the historic mansion burned down in 2009, ownership of the property was returned to Dr. Jake and Mrs. Marge Michel.
According to the Michel Family, “OM Sanctuary is a project that we as a family believe in. Richmond Hill Inn was a labor of love for our family – our gift to the community of serenity and beauty coupled with wonderful food and preservation of the 1889 Victorian Mansion built by Richmond Pearson that we rehabilitated to honor and preserve a piece of the rich history of WNC. OM Sanctuary, we believe, represents the next generation of what Asheville is and has been noted for – health, wellness and rejuvenation.” – David Forbes of the Mountain Xpress, August 1st 2011.
Below, friends of Margaret gather to plant one of her favorite types of trees on the OM Sanctuary property in honor of her memory. To see more pictures of Margaret Michel and her family, click here. The gallery is on the left hand side.