Lightening Up 2014

 Hello followers of Oshun Mountain Sanctuary (OM Sanctuary)! You all are probably wondering why almost a year has passed since our last entry. OM Sanctuary’s team has been busy bringing new light and restoration to the former Richmond Hill Inn Property. I have been impressed in my time here and I am excited to inform you about the current and past events.  In short; the staff, board, and volunteers have had a productive but overwhelming amount to do ever since they purchased the Richmond Hill Inn!  2013 was exciting for the organization when a number of the “Red Tape Challenges” were finally/mostly completed.  Please give a hand to our team who cleaned up the burned Pearson Mansion site, dealt with illegal dumping and other issues that were inherited, resolved Health Code issues, repaired equipment breakage, etc. During this time of development the Sanctuary continued to nourish the programs with many happy participants.
  Who am I? My name is Rachel Newcomb and I am the intern here this summer. I am a rising senior at Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, NY, who is double majoring in Environmental Studies and Public Policy with a minor in French and Francophone Studies. I happen to be a native of the Asheville area so it is great to be back home for the summer. I was incredibly fortunate this spring to be offered a position here for the purpose of taking the first steps toward assisting in the creation of a strategic Holistic Management conservation plan for the conservation of the grounds and woodland acreage. My primary duty consists of working with Adam Warwick and Michael Horack from the Asheville chapter of the Nature Conservancy.P1090801 So far, I have been conducting research on the geological and ecological characteristics of the OM Sanctuary property, using tools such as GPS to track information on the Tranquility Trail, researching the historical importance of the OM Sanctuary land, and working alongside OM Sanctuary Founder and President, Shelli Stanback, to plan for the future of conservation at OM Sanctuary. I consider myself lucky to have an internship in my field of study located in my hometown, and also to be working with such amazing people at two organizations that value a connection with nature and understand the importance of ensuring its health. Nature TrailOne of my other duties this summer is getting you caught up on what has occurred at OM Sanctuary since you last heard from us. I will be discussing the events that have taken place here, the employees who are now with us, and also giving exclusive updates about the work I am doing with the forest and grounds management. Our blog is going to be more enthralling than ever because things are really starting to happen around here! Stay tuned for our bi-weekly postings on what has happened, what is happening, and what is up and coming.
 
This entry was published on July 17, 2014 at 4:05 am. It’s filed under OMS Interest, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

